DCA Celebrates On Big Island, Raises $415,000 In Annual Auction

Posted on

By Oliver Klinger, Publisher

Over 320 attendees traveled to the Kohala Coast on the Big Island of Hawaii to attend the Distribution Contractors Association’s 51st Annual Convention. The meeting was held at the Fairmont Orchid resort in February.
  The convention was presided over by outgoing president Greg Dahl of ARB, Inc. of Lake Forest, CA. His convention chairman this year was Dave Wisniewski of Vermeer.
  Dahl had tagged this year’s convention as “Year One of the Next 50 Years,” after DCA celebrated its 50th Anniversary last year in Puerto Rico. “We are building on the successes of the past to improve and modernize the offerings of the association.” Dahl came into office with DCA in a strong financial position and a growing membership. “Throughout the year, we have concentrated on ways to engage all our members, bring in new members and especially attract young members.” Over the course of the last year, DCA completed a new branding with new logo, redesigned newsletters, eNews and a new and enhanced website.
  Other accomplishments during Dahl’s term was the holding of the association’s first Professional Development Conference held in conjunction with the fall board meeting, and initiating an Outreach Committee to explore ways DCA can give back to the industry and the membership community.
  Dahl feels “DCA continues to serve as a link between its members and government agencies, organized labor and other industry organizations. Dahl commented it also serves as a conduit to members to share ideas and information to help them operate their businesses more efficiently.”
  Through DCA’s sophisticated committee structure, members are engaged and educated in areas such as government relations and legislation, advancements in HDD, safety and risk management. The membership and education committees look for ways to add value to new and existing members. Additionally, the labor committee is tasked with negotiating collective bargaining on behalf of its unionized members. Contracts with the operating engineers and laborers come up during 2012.
  Dahl believes 2011 was a year that staff and members got an effective start implementing the association’s new plan for moving forward. Dahl said, “DCA operated under a five-year strategic plan that expired in 2010. That plan defined the association’s goals and means of accomplishing those goals. Our new plan extends more than a specified number of years and provides the basis for an ongoing process to change. It is a ‘living’ document that will be reviewed yearly with new goals added as we evolve and grow over time. We’ve had a good Year One of the Next 50 years of DCA.”

2012 Officers & Directors
New officers elected for 2012 are: President: Kevin Michels, Vice President – Equipment Division, Michels Corporation, Brownsville, WI; Vice President: Tim Bell, President, Midwestern Contractors, West Chicago, IL; Treasurer: H. Grady Bell, Vice President of Business Development, Laney Directional Drilling Co., Humble, TX; Immediate Past President: Greg Dahl, Vice President, ARB, Inc., Lake Forest, CA and Executive Vice President: Rob Darden, DCA, Richardson, TX.
  Directors for 2012 are: Tom Clapper, Vice President Business Development, H.L. Chapman Pipeline Construction, Inc., Leander, TX; Ben Nelson, Vice President, Gas Distribution Division, Pilchuck Contractors, Inc., Kirkland, WA; Frank Patterson, President, Patterson & Wilder Construction Co., Pelham, AL; Jay Osborn, President, Q3 Contracting, Inc., Little Canada, MN; Dale Anderson, Executive Vice President, Miller Pipeline, Indianapolis, IN; Michael J. Hickey, Executive Vice President, Construction Operations, The Hallen Construction Co., Inc., Island Park, NY. Past President Representative: Anthony Deusenbery, Otis Eastern Service, Inc., Wellsville, NY. Director at Large: Dale A. Mykyte, Pe Ben USA, Inc., Houston, TX. Associate Member Director: John Weaver, Corporate Business Manager, John Deere Construction & Forestry Division, Moline, IL and Alternate Associate Member Director: Bob Darby, President, Darby Equipment Company.

Safety Awards
The 2011 Arthur T. Everham Safety Award winners by category were:

  • Under 350,000 hours –  Pilchuck Contractors, Inc., Kirkland, WA
  • 351,000 to 699,000 hours – Intercon Construction, Inc., Madison, WI
  • Over 700,000 hours – Michels Corporation, Brownsville, WI

Upcoming events for 2012 include :

  • Safety Congress – April 16 – 18, Planet Hollywood, Las Vegas, NV;
  • Mid-Year Meeting – July 11 – 15, La Posada de Santa Fe Resort & Spa, Santa Fe, NM;
  • Fall Meeting and Professional Development Conference – November 13 –16, Gaylord Texan, Dallas, TX.
  • DCA’s 52nd Annual Convention  – March 5-10, 2013, — will be held at the  Lowes Miami Beach Hotel, Miami, FL.