DCA Elects 2009 Officers; Raises $268,500 In Annual Auction

Posted on

Over 300 attendees braved the economy to attend the Distribution Contractors Association’s 48th Annual Convention at the Sheraton Maui in Hawaii in February.
  Outgoing DCA President Anthony Deusenbery, vice president of construction and safety director, Otis Eastern Service Inc., Wellsville, NY, remarked that “Much of the success of the DCA is due to the support and involvement of its members. This year was no exception.
  “Our standing committee accomplishments have provided the association with an infusion of new ideas for programming, safety guidelines and leadership. Meetings were well attended and informative. We have increased both regular and associate membership, and organized labor agreements are in place. The overall support of the association is at an all time high,” he observed.
  At the annual auction, $268, 500 was raised.
  New officers elected for 2009 are: president – Shepard Poole, senior vice president, The Hallen Construction Co. Inc., Island Park, NY; vice president – Kevin Miller, Miller Pipeline Corporation, Indianapolis, IN; and treasurer – Gregory S. Dahl, vice president, ARB Inc. Lake Forest, CA. Dennis Kennedy continues as executive vice president of the association at its headquarters in Richardson, TX.
  Directors for 2009 are: Timothy Bell, president, Midwestern Contractors, West Chicago, IL; Frank Patterson, president, Patterson & Wilder Construction Co. Inc. Pelham, AL; Kevin Michels, vice president – equipment division, Michels Corp., Brownsville, WI; Grady Bell, estimator/engineer, Laney Directional Drilling Company, Humble, TX; Jim Brotherton, president, Brotherton Pipeline Inc., Gold Hill, OR; and Jay Osborn, president of Quality Contracting in Little Canada, MN. Dale Mykyte, president, Pe Ben USA, Inc., Channelview, TX, was named director-at-large. DCA’s past presidents also elected Linda Loftis, president, Loftis Construction Corp., Charlotte, NC, to represent them on the board.
  The associate member director is Dave Wisniewski, senior director, Underground Business Development, Vermeer Manufacturing Co., Pella, IA. The alternate director is Gary Lawson, global accounts manager, Ditch Witch, Perry, OK.
  The 2008 Arthur T. Everham Safety Award winners were:

  • Under 350,000 hours (tie): 1st place – Mid America Underground, Aurora, IL, and Midwest Underground Inc, East Moline, IL;
  • 351,000 to 699,000 hours: 1st place – KS Energy Service, New Berlin, WI; 2nd place (tie) – Michels Corporation, Brownsville, WI, and Quality Contracting, Little Canada, MN; and
  • Over 700,000 hours:1st place – Snelson Companies Inc., Sedro-Woolley, WA;
    2nd place – Minnesota Limited Inc., Big Lake, MN.

DCA Honorary Members
The association also inducted three people as Honorary Members: Harold Mueller, former owner of MRM, Ed Malzan of Ditch Witch and Ruth Michels, Michels Corporation.
  Speakers at this year’s meeting included Patrick Tielborg, managing director and general counselor, Pipe Line Contractors Association (PLCA). He reviewed current and future pipeline industry issues and the PLCA/DCA relationship. Also speaking was Dr. Samuel T. Ariaratnam, professor, Arizona State University who offered insight into calculating emissions, a method for determining environmental impact during underground utility installations. Terence M. O’Sullivan, general president, Laborers’ International Union of North America, addressed the delegates at the Thursday Business Session along with Mark Bridgers, senior consultant, FMI Corporation and Andy Patron, consultant, FMI Corporation.
  The 2009 mid-year meeting will be held in Jackson Hole, WY, July 22-26. The next annual convention will be held in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico, Feb. 23-28, 2010., and the 2011 annual meeting will be in Puerto Rico.