FERC OKs Fairburn Expansion Construction

Posted on

FERC has approved Southern Natural Gas Company’s request to construct and operate the Fairburn Expansion Project in the following Georgia counties: Clayton, Cobb, Fulton, Fayette, and Monroe. The project, which will provide 343,846 Dth/d of firm transportation service on Southern’s pipeline system from a new interconnection with Williams’ Transco pipeline in Fayette County, Georgia, includes:

  • An approximately 4.9-mile-long, 30-inch-diameter pipeline lateral (Fairburn Lateral), extending from a new interconnection with the Transco pipeline in Fayette County, Georgia, to the new proposed electric Fairburn Compressor Station in Fulton County, Georgia
  • An approximately 1.6-mile-long, 30-inch-diameter pipeline loop (South Main 2nd Loop Line Extension) upstream of Southern’s existing Thomaston Compressor Station in Upson County, Georgia, and co-located with Southern’s existing South Main Line System between mileposts 373.6 and 375.2 in Monroe County, Georgia
  • A new compressor station located at the terminus of the proposed Fairburn Lateral in Fulton County, Georgia with two 9,000 horsepower electric drive turbine compressor units
  • A new Transco to Southern Meter Station located at the new interconnection with the existing Transco pipeline in Fayette County, Georgia
  • A new United Parcel Service (UPS) Meter Station located near mile post 16.3 along the existing McDonough Lateral in Fulton County, Georgia
  • A new Plant McDonough Meter Station located at the terminus of the existing McDonough Lateral within Georgia Power Company’s Plant McDonough electric power generating facility in Cobb County, Georgia
  • Modifications to the existing Southern to McDonough Meter Station in Fulton County, Georgia, and the existing Jonesboro Meter Station in Clayton County, Georgia

The project is expected to be placed in service in October 2018.

Find articles with similar topics