PHMSA Seeks Nominations for Pipeline Advisory Committees

Posted on

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration has announced it is seeking nominations for personnel, preferably executive-level leadership, from the federal government and industry to fill vacancies on its Gas and Liquid Pipeline Advisory Committees.

Each committee has 15 members, equally represented from the government, industry, and public, and reviews PHMSA’s gas or liquid pipeline regulatory initiatives to determine their technical feasibility, reasonableness, cost-effectiveness, and practicability. Members are appointed by and report to the Secretary of Transportation for three-year terms, but may be reappointed as necessary to provide continuity in the review of technical proposals. Members are not compensated, and generally meet in-person in the Washington, D.C. Metropolitan area.

The Gas Advisory Committee (GPAC), also known as the Technical Pipeline Safety Standards Committee, has one federal government vacancy and one industry vacancy. The Liquid Pipeline Advisory Committee (LPAC), also known as the Technical Hazardous Liquid Pipeline Safety Standards Committee, has one federal government vacancy and three industry vacancies.

Nominees must have experience in safety regulations applicable to pipeline transportation or pipeline facility operations, or be technically qualified by training, experience, or knowledge in at least one applicable field of engineering to evaluate pipeline safety standards or risk management principles.

Individuals may self-nominate and/or nominate multiple qualified professionals. Nominations must be received by July 5, 2017, and submitted as directed in the Federal Register. See the Federal Register Notice for additional eligibility requirements and nomination instructions.

PHMSA may consider nominees for additional vacancies that occur while processing these vacancies.

For more information, visit

Find articles with similar topics